The Fountain of Health

New Kid on da Rock
5 min readJun 22, 2021
That just about covers it!

Natural hot springs are my favorite places to visit. I would never turn down an opportunity to explore a new soak. Even though, I do have several favorite spots.

The history of healing waters runs deep. Back to the very beginning of time. American Indian tribes were the first people to discover the benefits and pleasures of the volcanic activity that took place 20 to 45 million years ago.

No surprise, indigenous cultures viewed hot springs as sacred. A gift from Mother Earth. They believed in the healing qualities of the warm flowing waters, and used the sites with profound reverence to conduct their ceremonies.

No surprise, when explorers, trappers, fur traders, and early settlers discovered the mineral springs, the sacred sites soon morphed into well-known stopping points for migrants heading west. Hotels, resorts, hangouts, and spas, soon followed.

Feel Ten Years Younger at Saratoga Hot Springs Resort, the brochure beckoned.

My sister was new to Balneotherapy. But, she was a great sport, willing to give it a try, and offered to drive. Saratoga, Wyoming was a three hour drive from her home in Colorado.

Saratoga was originally named, Warm Springs. It was renamed after the spa town in New York, Saratoga Springs. Wishful thinking, as it didn’t become a well known spa destination. I lived in Laramie, Wyoming for nearly twelve years. I never heard of the healing hot springs in Saratoga.

As my sister and I barreled along I-80 West, at 80 miles per hour, (the speed limit) the vast, empty, high plains stretched to the horizon in all directions.

I reflected back on my life in Laramie. It was a busy, stressful, hectic time as a young mother of three children. If only I had known that a peaceful escape was only 65 miles away.

I would have been a kinder, softer, soul, if I had taken time to sit in a mineral bath once in a blue moon. However, the thought of self-care never crossed my mind. In fact, self-care was frowned upon. Mothers were expected to take care of everyone — but not themselves.

A fictional conversation with my former spouse played out, “Honey, I’m going to drive over the Snowy Range Mountains to Saratoga … alone, to meditate while sitting in 108 degree natural mineral pool. I need to focus on the present moment, and try to make sense of the absolute insanity of being your wife. Just make sure the kids are still alive when I return.”

His next move? “Check her into the looney-bin.”

“Looney-bin” was his term for a mental health care facility. (I should have probably checked myself in for an extended stay.)

The modalities I have learned to be enjoyable, healing, or grounding would not have been assessible or acceptable in my previous life. Too bad for the hassled, uptight, young mom … and her three children.

The Saratoga Inn has quite a history. And décor. Dead animals of the region mounted on every wall. Leather couches and chairs constructed to resemble cowboy gear most likely provided seating for long dead, dusty, cowhands. A lariat, bullwhip, rifle, and branding iron were a few of the accent pieces in the lobby. And, framed sepia photographs lined the hallways.

A sign over the door read:

Welcome to the west’s oldest and most prized treasures!

I loved it. My sister was a skeptic.

“Obviously, these people have never heard of COVID 19,” she observed.

“Nope. But we’re here to soak.”

And, we did.

Balneotherapy is the treatment of medical conditions by bathing in naturally occurring hot mineral water. A tranquil soak will provide relief from stress and fatigue. A no brainer.

In fact, the list of medical problems that are said to improve with a visit or two ranges from heart disease to depression to osteoarthritis. We met several true believers. People who traveled long distances to soak in the springs every summer. I doubt their trek was part of a traditional medical treatment, as modern medicine has been slow to catch on.

One poster read, “Many people have been brought back to health and vigor by a course of hot, mineral baths at THE SARATOGA HOT SPRINGS.

Tipis cover the pools. Acknowledgement American Indians were here first? Author’s photo.

My sister and I worked our way from the swimming pool at 90 degrees, to individual pools that varied from 101 -108 degrees.

Tipis provided privacy and protection from the wind.

After driving for several days, my muscles were wound tight and my head seemed too heavy for my aching neck to support it.

I noticed the lack of tension in my back and shoulders almost immediately. Sulfur is promoted as having pain relieving qualities.

Eventually, my skin felt silky smooth. Silica is thought to benefit aging skin and hair.

I didn’t shower after the mineral bath. The body requires ample time to absorb essential minerals.

Snowy Mountain Brewery claims to be the only brewery in America with it’s own hot springs on site. After spending time in the pools, we had pizza and beer for dinner. Hot springs, beer, pizza! What else could a person ask for?

A bed. One more benefit of soaking in hot mineral springs containing magnesium … improved sleep.

The next morning we woke feeling rested. My sister, now a card carrying member of the Balneotherapy fan club.

Who knew hot healing waters could work magic on a sixty-five year old body?

The American Indians were the first to figure it out.

If I had to chose one place to stay forever, this would be it. Author photo.

My top 3 hot springs:

  1. Ojo Caliente, New Mexico. Pictured. Very Zen. Temporarily closed due to a fire in one of the surrounding buildings.
  2. Riverbend Hot Springs, Truth or Consequences, New Mexico. Located on the Rio Grand River. Due to COVID policies, an advance reservation is required.
  3. Breintenbush Hot Springs, Detroit, Oregon. A one of a kind experience. Great vegetarian food. A sauna built over a fissure. Very natural environment and clothing optional.

Funkier the better:

  1. El Dorado Hot Springs, Tonopah, Arizona. Clothing optional. Last time I was there, a flock of wild turkeys paid a noisy visit. Heavy on Lithium. (Just in case you forgot your meds.)
  2. Essence of Tranquility, Safford, Arizona. Really laid back, easy going, hippy vibe.

Kid and mom friendly:

  1. Evans Plunge, Hot Springs, South Dakota. Definitely not Zen, or clothing optional.
I begged my mother to take The Plunge. Later she admitted her arthritis was less painful.

--

--